Could “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles” be this summers biggest flop?

4-Teaser-Posters-for-Teenage-Mutant-Ninja-Turtles

I have to admit when it was announced that there would be a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie I got excited. I guess you could give credit to the first movie back in 1990 for bringing these Turtles to life from the comics. Yes thats right for those who don’t know Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles originated from comics. With that being said after the first film things began to go down hill for the Turtles franchise. Lets face it Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles II: The Secret of the Ooze (1991) and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles III (1993) weren’t all that great. For the most part the Turtles have had most of their better success as animations. Before the 90’s live action film they were comics and then cartoons in 1987. The cartoon series ran from 87 to 96 and was very popular. Then after three films and the ending of a very popular cartoon series we got Ninja Turtles: The Next Mutation (1997)……let’s just leave it as just bad memories.

So as you can see when it was announced that they were rebooting the franchise once could only imagine it would be for the better, you know with technology and all being so advanced. Then we got the rumors of the origins being altered and that they weren’t born from Ooze but that they were aliens. WTF? Strike 1. (They fixed that problem and left the origins the same) Then they made the Shredder a white guy. WTF? Strike 2. (For those who don’t know the “Shredder” aka the arch nemesis of the turtles aka  Oroku Saki is a japanese man.) Now Strike 3 is arguable by many, ranging from April O’neal being played Megan Fox to the design of the Turtles to the voice casting of the cgi Turtles. Now I’m one to always give a film a chance and when we got the first trailer I was like , “Ok that kinda looked cool.” but still kinda worried. Then I saw trailer number 3 (video found below)…and although the design of the shredder looked badass I could not shake Strike 2 off my mind and by the end of the trailer when Megan Fox said her line, strike 3 felt more like a shotgun blast hitting me with all of the above reasons.

I don’t know but I have a gut feeling that  Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles is going to be this summers flop. From what could have been something totally awesome to a big disappointment. Don’t get me wrong  I’ll be there on opening day and I’ll have my fingers crossed hoping the film isn’t going to be what I think it’s leading up to…a disaster.

Leave a Reply

